Inscribed Collection Review

I love Bible studies.  Not only do they put you daily in the word, but they also go through and explain terms and make connections that you might not have ever encountered before.  So, when I received the opportunity to review the new first four Bible studies in the new InScribed collection of Bible studies for women, I was thrilled to get to experience these Bible studies for myself.

The books are beautiful.  They have solid colored, translucent covers that have images in the background, and beautiful word art as part of the covers.  The books have clean clear text with nice heavy paper, and the edges are rough-cut, and that just adds to the special feel of the books.

I chose to begin with Living “So That”: Making Faith-Filled Choices in the Midst of a Messy Life (InScribed Collection) by Wendy Blight.  This book is set up as a five week Bible study with scripture readings and questions interacting for five days of homework in each of these five weeks.  It’s an easy to work through workbook method that most people who are familiar with Bible studies will be able to easily pick up.

I needed this study more than I knew.  When the author chose “so that” as the theme of her book, it was to highlight the many statements in the Bible that had a purpose.  The themes that she chose to highlight were: Jesus came so that…, God Spoke So That…, Pray So That…, Trials Come So That… and Let Your Light Shine So That….

I found myself, as I went through underlining something on almost every page, working intensely with the workbook and feeling challenged to grow in my faith.  This was no light weight Bible study but was a study that was challenging and meaningful.

The next book that I encountered in the series was Amazed and Confused: When God’s Actions Collide With Our Expectations (InScribed Collection) by Heather Zempel.  This was a study of a book I’d never even taken the time to completely read through–the book of Habakkuk.  Zempel’s book is set up as an actual book with chapters.  At the end of each chapter, there is a series of analysis and reflection questions to read through and answer.

I found myself unexpectedly challenged by the book from the very first page.  I have so often, and so unscripturally associated God being love with God being nice that when things happen that aren’t very nice I have a hard time seeing God’s love in my life.  This whole book is about how we should respond when God doesn’t act like we feel he should because of the box that we have put him in.  I needed this book and this stern correction of my perceptions with more scriptural ones in my life.

The next book that I went through in the InScribed collection was Dive Deeper: Finding Deep Faith Beyond Shallow Religion (InScribed Collection) by Jenifer Jernigan. This is a study of the book of Ephesians, and the author  uses a method referred to as d.i.v.e. (define, investigate, visualize, embrace) to draw the reader into a deeper study and understanding of the Bible.

This book is divided into six sections, and each section has multiple lessons.  It is very much arranged like any other Bible study workbook.   I have not spent as much time with this one yet as the other books, but it is a very rigorous study, and I know that when I dive into it, it will help me to grow in my faith.

The final book of the new InScribed series is Leaving Ordinary: Encounter God Through Extraordinary Prayer (InScribed Collection) by Donna Gaines.  It, like Zempel’s book, is divided into chapters and after each chapter there are several reflection questions to help you sift through what you’ve learned in the chapter.  This is more than just a book about prayer.  Through the book, you’ll explore the Tabernacle and the meaning of the items inside of it.  It’s an excellent work.

These books, when taken together,  add a great deal of challenge and fun to the regular Bible study routine. They are definitely worthy of your time and as varied as they are, even if you find that one doesn’t interest you, perhaps another author would.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of these four books from Thomas Nelson publishers through the Booksneeze Blogger’s program.  I was not required to write a positive review and my opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

