Hmong Story Cloth Drawings

It’s no secret that we’ve been very happily working our way through a new study called Asia: Its People and History.  It’s meant to be a 16 week study of six countries in Asia:  China, Vietnam, Laos, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Iran.  Given that we’re very project and craft oriented homeschoolers, we’ve managed to add in some crafts and activities to make our study even more meaningful for my craft loving kids.

Of course, you might remember that last week, I posted a review of this book, so you should definitely check that review out for several places that you can purchase the book at as well as what our unit study of Laos has looked like as we’ve stepped through the book.

read an ebook week

I thought that since this week is “Read an ebook” week, it was a perfect time to share one of these crafts with you.

We’ve been studying Laos as our first unit study from this study guide.  Along the way, we downloaded a free supplement that author, Bonnie Rose Hudson, recommends in the section on Laos.  This download, from Kids of Courage, is called Bold Believers of the Hmong People .

In was in this supplemental reading that we first encountered Hmong story cloths.  We, of course, immediately went online and began researching what the story cloths were and how to make them.  Some of my favorite resources for viewing examples of the story cloths and learning more about their history are:

We decided to set out to make our own “story cloths.”  After some discussion, we decided to make drawings with collage elements on them.  We started by spending the afternoon pulling out our large paper and pencils and creating our own drawing.  I offered paint, but the children decided that they’d rather have the control of using the colored pencils.

drawing our stories

I was very surprised because, almost immediately, Firecracker and Rose both made the translation of the story cloths into a more organized coloring book.  They even sectioned off their paper into squares and rectangles.  They do not get that organized mind from me!

Later, after we’d laid them aside for a day or two, we were itching to get back to our story cloths and finish creating them.  We finished coloring and we attached ribbon, buttons, pom poms, and glitter to give our stories borders and to create more of a cloth feel.

Hmong Story Cloth

This was the perfect way to translate the idea of the Hmong story cloths to my young children.  If you’re looking at this and you have older children, I would encourage you to use fabric instead of paper and to collage small fabric scraps and embroidery to create your own cloth version of this project.

If you’re looking for recipes or some other great hands-on learning to really bring Asia: Its People and History to life, I highly encourage you to check out the link-up below because you’re going to find some great ways to enhance your studies of Asia within the link up.

I also highly encourage you to visit http://writebonnierose.com/asia-its-people-and-history/ where the author has several bonus printables to go with the book.  You’re probably going to enjoy having these.

Also linking up with:

9 thoughts on “Hmong Story Cloth Drawings

  1. What a neat way to to really make it come alive to them! I have been thinking about buying that study after reading everyone’s reviews for next year so I am going to pin this for later so we can do it! I am stopping by from the Blog Share so I will be sharing this on my personal page today. I have lots of homeschool friends so I know they will love this idea too!

    1. Thank you! It really is a fun study, and there are some simple things you can do to make it even more fun 🙂

  2. Reading this makes me wish this resource had been available several years ago when we were studying Asia and the Eastern Hemisphere. I think my oldest (now in college) would have really loved the idea of making a story cloth!

    1. The kids were really skeptical when I told them what they were going to do. Then, Firecracker realized that it was a “comic book.” LOL I knew it was a good project when my seven year old, who doesn’t like anything I suggest we do, said, “This was fun!”

Leave a Reply

