Twirl: A Fresh Spin at Life Review

twirl

I’ve been reading a lot of books recently about simplifying your life and living more deliberately.  So, when I got the opportunity to review Twirl: A Fresh Spin at Life by Patsy Clairmont, I was excited to hear another opinion about how to shed yourself of your busyness in order to live more freely.  In fact, on the cover the summary asks the question, “Is life making you so dizzy that you’re forgetting what’s most important?”

So, when I opened the book, I was more than a little surprised to find that Twirl wasn’t a book about shedding things and activities from your life.  It was so much more than that.  Instead of focusing on what you need to get rid of, the author encourages you to go through a list of meaningful additions to your life.  She discusses faith, family, poetry, painting, pets, cameras, and even the virtues of slowing down for a nice bubble bath.  She discusses all these and more so lightly and with such humor, that at first glance this doesn’t seem like a weighty read.  Then, you’ll have a realization from it that takes your breath away.

I realized that I wanted to be able to stretch out my arms and twirl and create.  I realized that I needed to create space in my life for that.  I find that so much of the time my own personality and creativity gets slammed out in the intense season of loving small children that I am in that I found a stern rebuke in her words.  Make space for the things that refresh your soul.

If you don’t know what would refresh your soul, take her chapters as a list and go down them for inspiration for new things to try.  In fact, she even includes discussion questions in her book to make it easier for you to gain practical use from her words.  Even better, follow her advice in the “be” chapter and “be still” for a little while in God’s presence.  He’ll tell you what you need to have in your life as your priorities.

Disclaimer:  I received this book free from Thomas Nelson publishers through the BookLook Bloggers book review program.  I was not required to write a positive review.  My opinions are my own.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Leave a Reply

