Homeschool Essentials: Praying for Peace and Love

5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials

So, you (and your spouse if you have one) have decided to homeschool.  You’ve prayed about educational philosophies, learning styles and curricula, and you’ve purchased a curriculum that you feel like to match your children’s needs and interests.

Now, it’s time to talk about the homeschool day.  It can be difficult to navigate.  You were thinking that your home would automatically be peaceful with children wanting to learn and obey you.  You thought everything would work out perfectly and that you’d get everything done each day that you put on your lesson plans.

If you’ve tried this out more than a few times, you may be like me and have to pick yourself off the floor from the laughter that the above paragraph inspired.  Just because you have a new agenda and a new focus doesn’t mean that your children do.  In fact, I’d daresay that if you’re bringing your children home from school or starting a completely structured schedule that you’ve never had before, you’re children will push back against it.

Here are a few things that I pray for and have found helpful in my homeschool day.  I’m sharing them in the hopes that you’ll find them helpful too. (I’m going to be continuing with some of these tomorrow too!)

Pray for Peace

I often pray for a peaceful day.  I pray specifically for the kind of day where there’s not a lot of arguing between the children, where they don’t argue with me, and where they don’t use a lot of rough horseplay with each other or with the dog.    It doesn’t always turn out the way I plan, especially since there are five other people who live in the house.

Romans 12:18 is a good verse to remember when you begin praying for peace in your home.  It says:

If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.

Another verse on living peacefully with others that I really like is 2 Corinthians 13:11.  It says:

 Finally, brethren, farewell. Be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in peace; and the God of love and peace shall be with you.

There are going to be disruptions.  There are going to be arguments.  There are going to be things that disrupt your day.  There are going to be weeks and months where you have a hard time homeschooling because the character issues (yours and the kids!) and outside events that disrupt the peace of your home.

In those situations, the best kind of peace to pray for is the peace of God in your heart.  A good verse to remember in those times is Philippians 4:7:

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

No matter what’s going on in your life, God has already given you the ability to handle it with Him and through Him.  So, walk in the peace of God, even when it is hard.

Pray for Love

I pray often that I will love my children and that I will respond to them in love.  The Bible is very clear on what the most important of all God’s commandments are.  Here’s a section from Matthew 22:36-40:

Master, which is the great commandment in the law? Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

Despite God’s command, that kind of love doesn’t come naturally to most of us.  We’re selfish, self-centered creatures by nature.  That’s the sin that is in us.  And as Romans 7 says, even when we try to do good, we often don’t.  So, I pray that I will love and that I’ll have a heart for my children.  I pray that I’ll see the good things that they do and respond to the wrong things they do by training them in our faith.  I pray that I’ll be on their side and that I’ll see them always through the eyes of love.

Come back tomorrow for the last day of the blog hop, and I’ll be writing about more prayers that I pray throughout my homeschool days.

This post is part of the Schoolhouse Review Crew 5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials Blog Hop.  Just click here to visit the whole list, or on one of the blog links below to get started.

1. Marcy @ Ben and Me

2. Lisa @ Golden Grasses

3. Tess @ Circling Through This Life

4. Victoria @ Homemaking with Heart

5. Kayla @ The Arrowood Zoo

6. Joelle @ Homeschooling for His Glory

7. Deanna @ His Treasure Seekers

8. Melissa @ Grace Christian Homeschool

9. Beth @ Ozark Ramblings

10. Rebecca @ Raventhreads (You are here!)

11. Laura @ Day by Day in Our World

– See more at: http://schoolhousereviewcrew.com/5-days-of-homeschooling-essentials-blog-hop/

Leave a Reply

