Homeschool Essentials: Praying Over the Decision to Homeschool

5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials

I feel strongly that direction from God should be the cornerstone of any effort to homeschool.  I’ve written about it here and here, but it’s such an essential in our homeschool that I wanted to spend my week-long series on homeschooling essentials focusing on essential prayers for your homeschooling efforts.

Pray about whether or not you’ve been called to homeschool.

Homeschooling is not for every family.  Each family has their own distinct family culture, and educational choices are a part of that.  If I come on strong to people about homeschooling, it’s because I don’t think that many parents realize that they have a choice for how they educate their children.

For us, as we were considering homeschooling, a friend recommended R.C. Sproul’s When You Rise Up.  It’s actually not one that I would recommend to people investigating homeschooling because Sproul uses the famous verse Deuteronomy 6:7, and he uses it to say that Christian families must homeschool.

And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

While I disagree with Sproul’s Biblical mandate, God had already placed that verse in my heart.  How could I practically live out that verse in our family with several children if they were in school all day?

I knew the answer from God, confirmed through several sources was that I couldn’t and that God was calling me home.  So, if you’re thinking about homeschooling or the idea sounds like an interesting one to you, pray.  Pray that God would tell you whether or not you should homeschool.

Closely related to this advice is my other advice on decision making, if God gives you an answer, obey it.  Don’t do what I did and try to compromise, half-obey, or wonder if you really heard from God about it.  If he wants you to have them at home, bring them home.  If he doesn’t, don’t!

I always think about Saul and Samuel when I think about obeying God.  Saul did whatever he wanted despite the Lord’s commands otherwise.  The Lord saw fit in return to remove Saul from being king.

Samuel even said to Saul in I Samuel 15:22

And Samuel said, Hath the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to hearken than the fat of rams.

If you pray and ask God for a message, I believe that you are bound to obey that message for your life.  When I tried to disobey God on homeschooling, He turned my life upside down and put it into crisis mode.  Everything He did was perfectly orchestrated to bring me back to obeying his command, and I’m thankful that He did because He didn’t have to, and it’s only through His grace and His mercy that he allows me a second chance to obey Him and to hear His voice.

If you’re reading this, and you’ve prayed over it and God hasn’t called you to homeschool, what do you do?  You follow the path that he has given your family.  You are still ultimately responsible for your child’s religious education and his/her academic education, even if you’re preparing them academically through a public or private school.  Don’t forget that.  Stay involved in what your child is learning and doing whoever their teachers are.

If you pray and realize that God has called you to homeschool, obey.  Begin to read about homeschooling.  Begin to pray about how to homeschool.  If they’re in school now, take them out of school.  Take the steps that you can to obey God.

Come back tomorrow, and I’ll be writing about how to pray when you feel you’ve been called home but your spouse is in disagreement.

This post is part of the Schoolhouse Review Crew 5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials Blog Hop.  Just click here to visit the whole list, or on one of the blog links below to get started.

1. Marcy @ Ben and Me

2. Lisa @ Golden Grasses

3. Tess @ Circling Through This Life

4. Victoria @ Homemaking with Heart

5. Kayla @ The Arrowood Zoo

6. Joelle @ Homeschooling for His Glory

7. Deanna @ His Treasure Seekers

8. Melissa @ Grace Christian Homeschool

9. Beth @ Ozark Ramblings

10. Rebecca @ Raventhreads (You are here!)

11. Laura @ Day by Day in Our World

– See more at: http://schoolhousereviewcrew.com/5-days-of-homeschooling-essentials-blog-hop/

8 thoughts on “Homeschool Essentials: Praying Over the Decision to Homeschool

  1. He totally uses homeschooling to teach us parents so many things. I like what you have to share in this post- especially here: “…if God gives you an answer, obey it.” and “When I tried to disobey God … Everything He did was perfectly orchestrated to bring me back to obeying his command, and I’m thankful that He did because He didn’t have to, and it’s only through His grace and His mercy that he allows me a second chance to obey Him and to hear His voice.” Yes, truly through His grace and His mercy.

    Thanks for being so open; this will bless others! ~Heather @ Principled Academy/the Crew

    1. Thank you! I am finding that the reason why I have been called to homeschool is because of the way that God is working on me through it.

    1. Thank you! This series did not take the shape I thought it would, and I’m going to be really encouraging people a lot in their prayer before the week is out 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. The use of that passage in Deut 6 as a Biblical Mandate for home schooling actually gave us pause and my husband and I almost didn’t home school. I agree that people need to really pray about it and seek out God and what is best for each family.

    1. I’m so glad that you pushed on anyway! Just think of all that you’d missed if you hadn’t homeschooled. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

