Love Does Study Guide with DVD Review

I have recently had the opportunity to review a curriculum that has nothing to do with homeschooling.  Instead, I have had the pleasure of spending the past couple of weeks working through the Love Does small group DVD and study guide.

Love Does is based off of Bob Goff’s wildly popular book of the same name.  A copy of the book is not essential, but is helpful in completing the assignments in the study guide.  I will be reviewing the study guide and DVD, not the book itself.

The Love Does study guide is a slight volume.  It is thin, at only 85 pages, and at first glance, I wondered if it had any depth to plum in Bible study.  The DVD is also comprised of short sections, with the lengthiest video session being 15 minutes in length.

When you look in the study guide, you will see that each in class portion of the session is comprised of a short introduction, a couple of questions to review the out of class activities of the week before, a scripture reading with a couple of questions to answer, a space for taking notes on the video, several questions for your group to discuss about the video and a task to complete during your small group time to put love into action.

The at-home portion of each section includes more actions for the week’s theme, additional scripture with reflection questions, and an assignment to read a chapter from the Love Does book and reflect on it.  The introduction to the study guide makes it clear that small group members can pick and choose from the at-home portion provided.  The resources there are just a menu of options.

I was a little skeptical when I looked at it.  I should have remembered that “man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.” (I Sam. 16:7)  The heart of these little volumes is very big.  I was still in the introduction when I was struck by this quote:

God’s love is different.  It changes things. It brings hope where there was only despair.  It revives faith that feels lifeless. It makes a way forward where there seems to be only a dead end.  It’s active.  It works.  God’s love….does.

When I was going through the lessons, they felt slight, breezy, and then I found that there were portions of the DVD or questions in the lesson that stayed with me and provoked my thoughts for days at a time after I had gone through those portions of the lessons.  I felt called to thought and began to wonder how best to bring these reflections into action.   That is when I knew that these lessons had done their task.  They had made me feel within myself that “Love does.”

I wholeheartedly recommend this study to small groups.  It would be great for a casual Bible study where the participants weren’t willing to commit to doing a bunch of daily assignments between meetings.  Goff’s message is compact, but it’s powerful.  If you try it, you might find that in your life, Love becomes much more than a word.  Instead, it will suddenly be an action.

The Love Does Study Guide with DVD is published by Thomas Nelson, and you can find more information about individual sessions here.  The retailer’s recommended purchase price is $36.99.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I review for BookSneeze®

One thought on “Love Does Study Guide with DVD Review

Leave a Reply

