An Outcry

Then the Lord said, “Because the outcry against Sodom and Gomorrah is great and their sin is very grave, I will go down to see whether they have done altogether according to the outcry that has come to me.  And if not, I will know.–Genesis 18:20-21

An Outcry

A detail that I have come to notice in the Biblical account of God’s conversation with Abraham about his plans to destroy the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah is quite simply the outcry against them.

Often in our house there are squabbles.  In fact, one of my chief responsibilities in our home is to determine who the wronged party is in any dispute.

That’s actually a pretty big responsibility. Do you know why?  It means that my children trust me to be the person in the house who can decide who is right in any fight.

They also know that I am on their side.  If they didn’t think that I was powerful enough to fix things or sympathetic enough to them to want the best for them, they wouldn’t bring their concerns to me.

Genesis 18 tells me that there were some people trusting in God to make things right.  Given the polytheistic world that Abraham lived in, they may not even have realized that they were crying out to God.  Nevertheless they were crying out for justice against Sodom.

God had heard and wickedness never goes unpunished.  Sometimes it may seem to, just as sometimes I mess up and take the wrong side in a sibling dispute.  Luckily, God never does the wrong thing, and eventually evil will catch up to the evildoers.

We can safely cry out to God about the evil in our lives and trust that he will answer our prayers. Even when we think that he might not have heard, usually he’s beginning to answer our prayers.

Leave a Reply

