Weary

Weary

Tonight I was reading part of Genesis 18.  A verse I had never noticed before stood out at me.

So Sarah laughed to herself, saying, “After I am worn out and my lord is old, shall I have pleasure?” (Gen. 18:12)

We have all heard the story about how Sarah laughed.  That wasn’t the part that was new to me.  What was new to me was the way Sarah said she was “worn out.”

I went to my KJV translation after reading the verses and read there that Sarah said she’d “waxed old.”  That was even more heartbreaking than the idea of being “worn out.”

Sometimes I feel weary.  Life seems to keep spinning faster and faster.  I often wish for a pause button. The day to day drudgery wears me out.

That’s when this passage from Isaiah comforts me.

He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.  Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall be exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.  (Is. 40: 29-31)

This was one of the first verses I memorized. My Mom had cross-stitched it, and when I was a child, it hung in our bathroom.  It’s been such a blessing to me to be able to recall these verses when I feel as if I can’t go on.

Sarah was worn out.  Even worse, God had promised her something long ago and she had “waxed old” waiting on his promise.

I read this verse, but then, I couldn’t help but notice that two verses later the Lord questions her and Abraham, asking, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

Our weary and worn out is often the passageway to a real work of God.  I often wonder why that is.  However, I have come to admit that sometimes the only time I let God work is when I’m too tired and worn out from trying to do it myself to keep Him from giving me a blessing.

Perhaps even more arrogant than that is the fact that often when I admit that I can’t do something on my own, it’s the only time that I am willing to acknowledge that the good work that has happened is solely the work of God.

Don’t ask.  I really am that stubborn and mule headed.

Sometimes when I wake up weary or with a headache, my sole prayer is “Lord, please give me what I need to make it through the day today.”  That’s the cry of the weary.  The blessing of God is what turns the weariness into laughter.  That’s when the miracle from God occurs.

Leave a Reply

