What We’re Doing: May 16, 2013

This has been a very strange and long week for me.  My grandfather died on Friday, and much of my week has been punctuated by visitation, the funeral and family time.  Yet, there’s also been a steady of hum of projects and activities in the background.

This weekend was Mother’s Day.  I made some handstitched gifts for my mother, mother-in-law and my grandmothers.  I stitched some small blackwork motifs and mounted them on journals that I had bought at the dollar store for a personalized touch.

We spent some time with both sets of grandparents this weekend, and we also did the usual church thing.  It was a good weekend actually.  Hubby and I even went to Cracker Barrel and ate out with Owlet Saturday night.

I also made Owlet and Rose matching cardstock Sofia the First crowns and amulets.  Aren’t they cute together?

Owlet's ice cream

We had a lot of painting going on this week.  Firecracker began making some toilet paper roll ninjas.  He’s still got to go back and paint their faces and weapons.  Rose painted on a princess castle that she had gotten a while back and never colored.

Monkey and Owlet used their cars and painted on a racetrack.  I got the printable here.  They had way too much fun doing that.  Obviously, they had a bath very shortly after the painting was done 🙂

painting

We started work on a paper mache project.  We’re still waiting for it to dry to paint.  We’ve been reading about the Japanese New Year celebration and we’ve decided to make some traditional daruma dolls out of paper mache.  Actually, Firecracker wasn’t so keen on the idea because he doesn’t like the mess of paper mache.  So, I was really pleased to see him actually participating in making them.

paper mache

Firecracker and I started making some character profiles from his Ninja peg dolls.  I was the scribe, but this project is on hold until we finish the actual toilet paper ninjas.  He wants to add more characters and then write stories.

They also made Ninja a paper crown to wear.  He was unimpressed.

One of my favorite things this week was the picture that Rose drew of me and her holding hands.  She’s so sweet (even when she’s a little sassy).

random

AWANA finished this week with awards night.  I was very proud of Firecracker because he has finished his Sparks book every year and received the Sparky Award.  He did a little fist pump when he got his award.  He was so excited!

If you look closely at the bottom right hand corner of the collage below, you’ll see the flowers on my grandfather’s grave.  Imagine Hubby, four children and me at the funeral home, the funeral, the graveside ceremony, and eating with the family after the funeral.  It’s been a long and exhausting week on many levels.

If you look closely at the upper right hand corner of the collage below, you’ll see some Ninja and Princess stuff that the children have picked out to use for some summer learning.  I’m excited about it, and so are they.  One of the resources that I intend to use, but haven’t really discussed with the kids yet is Thriving Families’ Around the World in 60 Days.   I loved the map when I got it in the mail, and I think the lessons will be short and enjoyable for the kids (geography and Bible combined).  I just have to convince them of that now 🙂

I’m still trying to get them to finish the insect unit too, and we worked on it one day this week.  It’s a good unit, but we’ve lost momentum.  I’m thinking that if we don’t make any forward progress on it next week, I’ll just scrap it due to lost interest.  It’s the checklist person in me that likes to mark it completed since we’re so close to being finished.

sparky

The kids got to play with a turtle at my parents house this week.  They got to help Hubby try to train Ninja.  He’s still going in the house, but he killed a scorpion in the house, so I’m calling it a draw.

The kids have spent lots of time playing in the castle this week.  We only have one section of it still standing and the toddlers are really enjoying it.

They’ve also spent plenty of time playing on the Kindle and on the DS this week.  Firecracker has almost completed Plants vs. Zombies and he’s really into Lego Star Wars right now.  Rose has been playing on my Kindle, mostly a game called Ninja Joe and Plants vs. Zombies.  Monkey and Owlet have also been playing on the Kindle, but they’ve been playing Beck and Bo and Pepi Tree.

weekend

So, it’s been a good week, and I hope everyone else had a good week as well.

Linking up with:

6 thoughts on “What We’re Doing: May 16, 2013

  1. I am so sorry about your grandfather. I will be praying for you all. Love the crowns and amulets. Your kids are always doing the craftiest stuff! So fun. Keilee used to LOVE plants vs. Zombies!

  2. So sorry for your loss! It does sound exhausting to have added that into your week. Thanks for the link to the “around the world in 60 days” — I’m going to check into that further!

  3. It sounds like you made the best of a rough week. I am sorry for the loss of your grandfather. You all did so many fun crafts.
    Blessings, Dawn

  4. What a crafty week you had… looks like your kids are luckier than mine, because I don’t do crafts very well 😉

    I am sorry to hear about your grandfather… praying for a restful weekend for you.

Leave a Reply

