What We’re Doing This Week: April 18, 2013

This week has been down week for us.

We did have book club on Friday.  We discussed Strawberry Girl.this month.  This book was charming, and I don’t think we would have found it if it weren’t a book club book.

One of my children’s favorite parts of the book was when the feuding families were using real and fake poison on each other.  So, as our part of the snack for book club, we made poison punch (orange juice + cranberry juice) and poisoned brownies.  The poison on the brownies is simply powdered sugar.  I thought this was an awesome and delicious idea.

Image

On Sunday, we celebrated Owlet’s second birthday.  My sweet, sassy and funny Owlet is crazy about Dora and as cute as can be.  I’m so thankful for the way she completes our family.

Image

 

Then, after celebrating Owlet’s birthday, I spent the better part of the next three days in bed with a headache.  We didn’t do anything Monday or Tuesday.  In fact, by Tuesday, I had to call my Mom and ask her to pick up the children for a while because I was too sick to care for them by myself.  That doesn’t happen often, and I’m grateful that she has a flexible schedule and  that she and my Dad were willing to care for them for me.

By Wednesday, I was still weak, but I was able to sit and read to the kids and watch television with them.  I’ve introduced Firecracker to Mythbusters, and our lives may never be the same.  He loves a Ninja episode of Mythbusters, and we watched it twice Wednesday.

In the Ninja episode, we were introduced to non-Newtonian fluids, and we’re planning to do a little experimentation with that next week.  We had to wait for Hubby to stop by the store and get cornstarch before we could experiment.

We also finished Leviticus this week, and that was a pretty awesome feeling.  We’ve been reading the Bible together since October, and Leviticus has been very difficult to get through.  (Actually, so was the second half of Exodus.)  I’m hoping we’ll hit some interesting chapters soon.

We’ve been working on our bug unit again today, and we’ve been talking about beetles.  We watched videos about beetles and learned different characteristics about beetles, including that a common characteristic of beetles is a hard shell that covers the wings.  Very cool stuff.  We also drew pictures of our favorite beetles.  Firecracker likes Rhinoceros beetles and Rose likes ladybugs.

We’ve also been making a display board for Firecracker for science fair on robots.  I don’t know if we’ll actually get to go to science fair though.  My hubby is having surgery on his arm (an abscessed cyst) tomorrow, and science fair depends totally on how Hubby is feeling tomorrow night.

Linking up with:

13 thoughts on “What We’re Doing This Week: April 18, 2013

  1. Stopping by from Homeschool Mother’s Journal link-up. I’m so sorry to hear about your headache. I’ve been dealing with frequent migraines for about three months now, so I definitely understand. It sounds like you guys had a fun week in spite of it. When you’re up to it, stop by and see what’s going on over at http://fearfultofearlessblog.com/

  2. Happy Birthday to your sweet little one! We love Mythbusters here too. We haven’t seen the Ninja episode.. We will definitely have to look that one up!!!

  3. Visiting from ihomeschool. As someone who homeschools with chronic migraines, I can sure feel your pain. It takes a lot of prayer not to get down about the pain and suffering. Thank you for sharing your week. We love bugs here too. My 11-year-old has never outgrown that love and he’s passed it on to his little siblings.:)

  4. I haven’t read Strawberry Girl since I was young – I think my 11 year old needs to read it! I love your bookclub ideas – very clever!

    Thanks for linking with Collage Friday!

    1. The snack idea for bookclub was completely my 8 year old’s idea. I was thinking fried chicken or sweet potatoes or something like that 🙂

  5. So sorry about your headache but thankful that you are better now. Your Owlet is adorable. Happy birthday to her. I love the ideas for “Strawberry Girls” and am going to look up the book. I have never heard of it. Isn’t Mythbusters great? Keilee loves that show. Have a great weekend!

    1. I had never heard of it myself until one of the other Moms at Bookclub put it on the list 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I love the idea of a book club. Maybe I should start one within our co-op? I’ll have to think on that for a while. :0) My son and husband love Mythbusters too! What a blessing to have parents close enough to call on them when you need them. Hope you are feeling back to normal now. Blessings!

    1. I love book club. Book club and science fair are my two favorite things that my homeschool group offers. I’m feeling great. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

