Pinterest Project: Stamped Robots

I’ve been browsing Pinterest for projects to help enrich Firecracker’s love of robots.  As I looked, I found that many of the robot ideas were art related.  This idea in particular stood out to me for it’s use of bright colors.  You should check out the original because they turned out beautifully.  Ours had their own charm 🙂

We started out by laying a thin coat of black tempera on a paper plate.  Then, we tore up a cardboard box and each got a piece.  We “drew” our robots by dipping the cardboard into the paint and then stamping it onto a page in our sketchbooks.  It is my duty to note that Firecracker had difficulty with this step.  He whined and moaned about how hard it was because he did not like the thickness of the line variation that he was getting with the stamping and cardboard.  His is the one on the bottom right, and I think it turned out fine.

Image

I did the top one for Monkey’s notebook because Monkey was busy playing a preschool puzzle game on my Kindle.

Monkey playing the puzzle game :-)
Monkey playing the puzzle game 🙂

We had to wait several hours for our outlines to dry.  During that time we watched You Tube videos about the robot Asimo.  Really cool stuff.  We got out some other paint and painted the caterpillars that we had sculpted earlier in the week….I think we might have done a math code break type worksheet.  Firecracker has grown to love crack the code type games.

Back to the tutorial….Later in the afternoon we sat back down and painted the robot’s bodies with colors of choice.  I wanted them to do the backgrounds too so that the whole page would be filled up with color (just like the ones I saw on Pinterest), but the kids liked them better with white backgrounds.

Here’s the finished results:

Rose (I love the way she made a robot stickman :-) )
Rose (I love the way she made a robot stickman 🙂 )
Monkey's painting.  He was so excited when he realized that we had the paint out!
Monkey’s painting. He was so excited when he realized that we had the paint out!
Firecracker's robot.  I love the way it turned out!
Firecracker’s robot. I love the way it turned out!
One thought on “Pinterest Project: Stamped Robots

Leave a Reply

