Redeemed

redeemed

I’m currently working on a review lesson for my Community Bible Study Galatians book, and in the lesson, we review some of the things that Christ redeemed us from (and to). I wanted to share some of that here.

Also, as a complete aside, I can’t think of the word redeemed right now without thinking of the Big Daddy Weave song.  It’s the kind of song that gets under your skin in a,completely good way.

What are we redeemed from?

We’re redeemed from the curse of the Law (Gal. 3:13).  As Paul says in Galatians 2:21, if following the Law could have saved us, then Christ’s death would have served no purpose.  Paul himself points out that the purpose of the Law is to point to our need for a Savior.  James reminds us that even if someone keeps the whole law, an offense in any one point makes him guilty of it all. (Jam 2:10)

Christ also redeems our lives from the pit (Psalm 102:2-5).  I really like this one.  I need to have a life that has meaning.  I need to know that he has taken me out of the pit and set my feet on the path.

He’s also redeemed me from Death and the power of Sheol. (Hos. 13:14)  I will one day arise.  I am always surprised by hope when I contemplate this.

I am redeemed from iniquity. (Tit. 2:13-14)  I struggle at times most of the time with being a follower of Christ.  However, he has cleansed me from sin and the power of sin in my life.

I am also redeemed from the gods inherited from my fathers (1 Pet. 1:18-19).  I read a lot about this in Kyle Idleman’s Gods at War. We derive many of the things that are important to us from the things that are important to our parents and from the surrounding culture.  Because of Christ, we should realize the futility of living for culture.

What are we redeemed to?

We are redeemed to Christ.  We are his Bride.  We are inheriters of his Spirit through faith.  We are sons.  We are redeemed.

Leave a Reply

