Bread-Machine Breadsticks

Thought I would put a couple of the recipes that I use a lot on here.  Since they’re my favorites, someone else might like them too 🙂

Today, I’m going to bring you a recipe that I use at least once a week.  We’re pasta eaters.  We like alfredo, marinara, lasagna, ziti, and even all kinds of varieties of things over egg noodles.  Often, pasta dishes are one dish meals, needing only bread and a salad to make it seem complete.

Bread Machine Breadsticks

 

Bread Machine Breadsticks

1 c. warm water

1/4 c. oil

3 c. bread flour

1 tsp. salt

3 tbsp. brown sugar

2 1/2 tsp. yeast

Place all ingredients in bread pan of bread machine.  Layer in listed order unless your bread machine has a different manner of layering.  Run the bread machine in its dough cycle.  Then roll out onto a 10 x 12 buttered cookie sheet.  I usually sprinkle a little flour over the top of mine to keep the dough from sticking to the rolling pin.  That’s why you can see white in the picture of finished breadsticks.

Use a pizza cutter to cut into strips.  Let rise about an hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake for 15 minutes.

There are two variations for how I like to top this bread.  The bread in the picture hasn’t been topped yet, but I’m making it as a breadbasket type side, so I will melt 1/2 stick of butter and mix with with 1/2 tsp garlic salt.  I’ll drizzle that over the bread and sprinkle it with Parmesan cheese.

The other way to make it is like a dessert bread.  I also melt 1/2 a stick of butter for that.  I mix in about 2-3 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon and pour over.

Of course, the toppings are only for the days when I can keep myself from eating it hot off the baking sheet 😉

4 thoughts on “Bread-Machine Breadsticks

  1. About the only thing I use my bread machine for is pizza dough. We love breadsticks, so we are definitely going to have to try these.
    Thanks for stopping by and sharing with Throwback Thursday. I can’t wait to see what you share this week.

Leave a Reply

