Returning Home

Returning Home

I thought I would keep going with my book of Ruth bible study work.  I had kind of promised that I would keep writing about Ruth when I made my first post.  Somehow, I’ve just let the other things that I wanted to blog about take front stage the past couple of weeks though.

The ladies that I am facilitating for are using Ruth: Loss, Love, & Legacy (The Living Room Series) as their core text for studying the book of Ruth.  We’re going to be doing our third fifth session (out of 6) on Sunday night and I am really enjoying myself.  Sometimes I don’t participate in things like this because I don’t want to spend the time away from my family, but then I find out that that time is very restorative and restful for me.

I find that I’ve actually been hard pressed to find the time to think that I needed to in order to blog about such heavy material.  Of course, even as I type right now, Owlet is right beside me (at 12:30 at night–why do you think we call her Owlet?).  She fiddles with my book and hugs all over her sister’s stuffed animals.  If Rose were awake to see it, she’s be freaking about baby germs on her stuff.  I’d tell her that she’s just being selfish.  🙂

I was just at the place where Naomi had heard that the famine had passed in Bethlehem and had decided to return home.  It made me think that sometimes we’re far away from God and circumstances force us to return to him.  When Rose was a newborn, I had fallen far away from my faith.  I didn’t think I could ever believe the fundamentals or the old-fashioned tenets of Christianity anymore, and yet, as I struggled with stress and postpartum depression, I began to find my way back to God.  It wasn’t really even of my accord.  I merely found comfort in the songs and the services, and over time, came to see that I might not have “grown beyond” my faith after all.

I think the crux of the time that I struggled is kind of epitomized in a Warren Wiersbe quote that is quoted in Minter’s book.  “How sad it is when people only hear about God’s blessing, but never experience it, because they’re not in the place where God can bless them.”  At the time when I began to be drawn back closer to faith and to God, I was seeing people that were so blessed and so grounded in their faith, but I wasn’t one of them.  Instead, I had let my doubts and fears drive me to a place where I couldn’t be comforted or blessed by God, even if he had wanted to bless me.

 Keep me safe, my God,  for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;  apart from you I have no good thing.”  I say of the holy people who are in the land, “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.” Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.  I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods  or take up their names on my lips.

 Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;  you make my lot secure.

 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance

Psalm 16: 1-6

Now , I remember the above quote and I try and trust God to provide for my needs and as I realize that I take much of my sustenance and my  hopes for the  future in my relationship with him.

Leave a Reply

