What We’re Doing This Week: June 1, 2013

This week felt like Summer.  I loved having Memorial Day this week.  Hubby was off work.  We had late nights.  We made homemade ice cream.  The whole week just had a celebratory air to it.

We went outside.  We ate Popsicles.  We played with cousins.  We even went swimming. One of the pictures in the collage below is my father and grandmother together at Georgia National Cemetery.  They went and visited my grandfather’s grave on Memorial Day, and you can get a good view of the flags on the tombstones in the photo.

Also, Dad was giving out tractor rides to the kids this weekend too.  He was plowing his garden.  Yay!

memorial day weekend

Part of our Memorial Day fun was going to my grandmothers and throwing water balloons at the other cousins.  That’s something we haven’t really done before, and the kids had a lot of fun.

My Dad’s also teaching Firecracker how to shoot a BB gun.  Firecracker’s starting to get very serious about manly things like weaponry.

Outdoor fun

We finished reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland this week.  We also made a lapbook that I got from Confessions of a Homeschooler.  The kids enjoyed the book a lot more than I thought they would.  Rose likes lapbooks better than Firecracker,  and she was very proud of the way hers turned out.  I ordered Through the Looking-Glass for us to read soon.  We also watched both the Disney cartoon and the Johnny Depp Alice in Wonderland.  The kids love both.  We even made jam tarts to celebrate.

Alice Lapbook

 

We played a big multi-night game of Monopoly this week.  Hubby won.  He has a killer instinct.  I think Rose cried with disappointment for about two hours, but she’s pretty feisty.  She might take him by surprise the next time they play. (Me?  I was the first one to go bankrupt.)

I love the pictures of Owlet in the collage below.  She stole Firecracker’s John Deere hat and hulk gloves, and she was incredibly proud of herself for being “Hulk.”

We also worked on the number one a little bit this week for some of our preschool time.  I think Monkey is starting to become serious about his coloring and his “schoolwork.”

 

 

Around the house

 

We finished our Daruma doll heads this week.  They are a Japanese New Year’s tradition, and I’m going to bring a post to you about Japanese New Year’s and the dolls Monday or Tuesday.

 

daruma dolls

 

Owlet continues her love of “her Kindle.”  She grabs it and runs for a place to play every time she gets a chance.  Monkey and Rose gave me a concert one day this week with their songs that they’ve learned from church.  Very cute.

We also talked a little about the third day of creation.  We fingerpainted trees and grass for our creation books.

 

preschool fun

 

We also spent an entire afternoon sorting socks.  I haven’t sorted all the socks out in a very long time and Firecracker plans on a whole army of Star Wars sock puppets, so we needed to see what socks we had that didn’t have matches.

 

 

sorting the socks

 

I guess that’s our week in a nutshell.  I am spending some of my weekend getting ready for Vacation Bible School.  We have Bible School this week, so I’m thinking that this week is going to be very fun.

Linking up with:

5 thoughts on “What We’re Doing This Week: June 1, 2013

  1. Reading about your week made me want to homeschool in your house! It looks like just my kinda thing :-) Thanks for the reminder to put Alice in Wonderland on our read aloud list. (So many books, so little time…!) Looking forward to your Japanese New Year post. I didn’t even realise it was coming up, despite our own Japan studies earlier in the year!
    Lucinda

  2. Pingback: May Reads | Raventhreads

  3. Pingback: Our Summer Reading Plans | Raventhreads

Leave a Reply

